It’s Domino Designer 7.x day! (November 22, 2009)  That is, it’s Donahan Domino Designer’s 7 year (or 49 in people years) birthday!!!!

Seven years ago, Bruce and I were considering a dog but were just not 100% sure what kind of dog we wanted or even if we were ready to commit to the responsibility of dog ownership.  In Bruce’s quest to find the perfect dog, our friend Kelly told him that her mother bred English Springer Spaniels and that they were an excellent dog to own as a pet.  We had no clue what an English Springer Spaniel was, but Kelly insured Bruce that he would fall in love with them.  To get Bruce familiarized with the breed, Kelly’s mom brought over their four dogs (Delta, Jeanie, Calvin and Duffy) for him to check out. Bruce never mentioned anything to me about seeing Kelly’s mother’s dogs nor going forward with any thing.  So for a few months things slowed down and not much happened.

Then, a few months later, Bruce showed me some puppy pictures of the breed and asked me what I thought of the puppies.  I thought they were cute, but I had my heart set on a yellow lab.  He asked me if I would like a dog like that (an English Springer).  I didn’t say “yes” or “no”…so I think he took it as a “maybe”.  I am not sure when Bruce did this, but he went out to see the litter of puppies that Jeanie (Domino’s mom) just had.  He instantly fell in love with Domino (Kaleb then).  From that point forward, there was no turning back!  We were now going to be the proud owners of a 8 week old black and white male English Springer Spaniel!

I remember vividly the day that Domino was brought home to us!  He was so little!  He had his first meal at our house, played with us for a while and then fell asleep.

The next item on the list was to name him.  We were thinking something to do with him being black and white.  Oreo was mentioned and some other names. but then I came across Domino and thought of the instant connection between black and white, domino the game piece and IBM’s Lotus Notes/Domino!  What a perfect fit!!!  It was a match made in heaven!!  But now the chore was to put together a AKC name that included Domino.  We thought long and hard on this but came up with a very clever name.  With Domino’s mother’s AKC name, CH Donahan’s Designer Jeans CD, we came up with CH Donahan Domino Designer (playing on his mother’s AKC name as well as IBM’s Lotus Notes/Domino Designer name)  Pretty neat, huh?

What would have been really neat is if back in 2002 (the year Domino – the dog) was born, that IBM Lotus Notes/Domino was in version 7, but alas, it wasn’t (it was in version 6.x)  So, I guess we can’t say that Domino was born when Lotus Notes/Domino was in version 7.x!

So here we are 7 years later with a WONDERFUL pet who has brought us so much joy and laughter into our family!  Domino now has a little sister (Bella) that he has to contend with every now and then, but I think he wouldn’t have it any other way!  But that’s another story!

Thank you Domino, for bringing us all the joy and love into our family!  We are excited to have MANY more years with you and creating unforgettable memories!  HAPPY BIRTHDAY BOY!  You are the best Domino Designer that anyone could ever design!  We love you so much!

Baby Domino

Baby Domino

Domino Today

Domino Today

