I became a huge fan of the Twilight series when my daughter introduced me to the books about a year ago. The story is about a teenage girl that falls in love with a vampire in a small town in Forks, WA. Stephanie Meyer (the author) does a wonderful job of telling this story is a series of 4 books (Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse and Breaking Dawn). The stories are an easy read and keeps your interest. Each book leaves you suspended and wanting more. I have yet to start reading the last series, Breaking Dawn, although it will be very soon. I am excited to see how this saga ends.

I also understand that Stephanie Meyers will be writing a second series of books, depicting it from Edward’s side rather than from Bella’s side of the story.

Starting November 21, 2008, the Twilight movie will debut in theaters. Bella Swan is played by Kristen Stewart who has also starred in movies such as Adventureland and Jumper. Edward Cullen (the vampire) is being played by Robert Pattison who’s most recognized character was Cedric Diggory in the Harry Potter movie, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. A lot of the movie was filmed in Washington and Oregon, although exact location spots are not known to me. They chose this location to film due to the rainy and overcast skies which helped depict the dark story.

The lady that does my waxing, her daughter is a stand in for Bella and Alice (two of the key cast members in the movie). Also, one of my old colleague’s sister-in-law is an extra as well as a local radio personality was also a stand in for one of the characters. So it will be fun to see if you can spot them out.

I am planning to go to see the movie, although the books are usually better. (as it was with the Harry Potter series). It’s a great story line, so if you like unorthodox love stories mixed with a flair for a mysterious and suspenseful thriller, Twilight is a movie to go see.

