Today is my son’s 18th birthday. Its hard to believe that is he officially an adult now. He can now do some semi-grown up things, some of which I do not want to know about!! (like going to some strip clubs…yikes!!). And he will actually be able to vote for our next president this year!

Hard to believe since it seems like yesterday when I met him at the elementary school after his first bus ride. Coming off the bus with tears in his eyes, he came to me stating that he did not know where the bus was going (since it was not a direct route to the school) and that he was worried. Now, we will be dropping him off at his college dorm next week. This time, it will be me with tears in my eyes as I wave good bye to my not so little son.

I write this with mixed emotions, happy and elated that my son is taking his next big milestone in his life and entering into the world of us adults. The other part me is sad and melancholy as I know that my little boy is no longer that “little kid” that always needs his mommy.

However, there is a book that encapsulates it all, one of my favorite all time children’s books entitled “Love you forever” by Robert N. Munsch. It is a story of the evolving relationship between a boy and his mother. The lullaby she sings to him (below) is engraved in my heart forever.

“I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
as long as I’m living
my baby you’ll be.”

Brandon, happy 18th birthday! Even as you grow into adulthood, as long as I’m living, my baby you will be. Have a great day sweetheart! This is YOUR day!!

Brandon on a pony

Brandon today

Brandon today

