I wouldn’t consider myself a health nut, but I do consider myself someone that is concerned about one’s health and am always looking at different nutritional and medicinal theories out there. (whether it is homeopathic, naturopathic, modern medicine, etc.)

Over the past few years, there has been a surge of discussions regarding the benefits of soy. With that has also come the controversy about the dangers of soy.

With an Asian upbringing, I have eaten soy in some form or another all my life. It was part of the mainstay of our diets. I’ve always enjoyed the taste of it and sometimes preferred it over any other source of protein. Edaname is one of my favorite snacks (even preferred over nuts) and I love tofu in my dishes. Unfortunately, I don’t eat much of it in my daily diet today as I have sadly gotten away from the traditional Japanese dishes. (I definitely need to start back up!)

I do, however, have my daily chai tea with soy milk. Partly because I am semi lactose intolerant (depending on the combination of the drink – i.e. – protein drinks kill me!) and because I like the taste of it versus plain old milk.

When my children were born and were put on formula, I quickly realized that as babies they were lactose intolerant (very common in Asians) and had to be put on soy formula. Today, they are no longer lactose intolerant and can eat/drink dairy as they please. However, I think as they grow older, (as I am finding with myself) their systems will change and dairy will become once again a possible problem to ingest.

With all the controversy about whether or not soy is good for you, it is hard to know for sure who/what to believe. All I know is that I have consumed soy in one form or another all my life and I have yet to experience any issues associated with it.

I guess as it is with anything, everything is in moderation. Too much or too little of one thing is never good. Balance is the key to a good life, regardless if it is with respect to food, diet, drink (heaven forbid!) or physical activity. It’s something that I truly believe in and try to live my life by it. (although not always successful!)

