My father called me to inform me that my grandmother passed away yesterday, May 22, 2008, at 3:35 p.m. MDT. She was 96 years old. She died from failing health and old age. She went peacefully.

My grandmother was an amazing woman. I am not sure if you remember, but I wrote a blog about her on 12/28/07 titled “Grandma”. Here is a small excerpt of that post:

My grandmother came over to the U.S. from Japan and married my grandfather in an arranged marriage. She had 6 children and raised them on a farm. She birthed two of her children at home alone while my grandfather was working. Every one of her children speak Japanese fluently.

She grew up during the Depression and taught us how to be conservative and resourceful with what we have. She taught us to be thankful for what we have as well as how to work hard for what we want/need.

She is as stubborn as a mule, determined to no end and is strong mentally and physically than anything you can imagine. Her health is good considering her age. Outside of a weak heart and a bit of dementia now and then, she still knows how to live life.

CORRECTION: I mentioned above that Grandma birthed 2 kids at home, when it actually was 5. The only one born in the hospital was my dad.

As I mentioned in that post, my grandmother knew how to live life to its fullest and never took anything for granted. She was the epitome of someone who knew what life was about and what it had to offer. She was stubborn as a mule, but she was also the most generous and kind-hearted person you would ever meet.

She lived a wonderful and rich life raising 6 wonderful children, with 11 grandchildren and at least a dozen great-grandchildren.

She leaves this earthly world to join her husband of over 60 years of marriage. What she leaves behind for each and every one of us are wonderful memories to cherish forever. But most importantly, she leaves behind a legacy and an example of how each and every one of us should live our lives.

Grandma, as a dedication and in honor of you, I post this blog to let you know that you are loved and will be missed dearly. Rest in peace, Grandma.

