This post is dedicate to my mother and wishing her the best Happy Mother’s Day ever!

https://i2.wp.com/farm4.static.flickr.com/3103/2479432920_4499e140a6_m.jpg
Mom – in her early to mid-20s

As most of you know, my mother’s health hasn’t been that great and that I just recently returned from a week of helping her with her recovery. When I first posted about her and her injury as well as her progress, things were pretty grave to say the least.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I arrived and was scared to face what I may see. Surely I was surprised by how much older she had gotten and how frail she had become. But all that was secondary to the happiness and joy that I felt when I saw her and knowing that I was going to be able to spend some very quality time with her. It had been YEARS since I had seen her with only conversations on the phone. The joy I saw in her face when she saw me made me feel like I was in heaven! I knew that my visit was going to make a difference!

The first couple of days that I was there, mom was progressing better than she had been in the past. And according to my sister that lives there, she even mentioned that this was the best she had seen mom.

Now, don’t get me wrong, mom had a day or so where she was just totally out of it. Our hearts sank with thoughts that she was digressing. However, I kept my faith in knowing that she was going to continue to get better and that she was only having a few “bumps” in the road.

As days gone by, mom was eating better and seemed brighter than ever. She was “almost” back to herself. I got her involved in the daily activities that they held in the rehab center, I went with her to her physical therapies and I joined her at the majority of her meals making sure that she was continuing to eat. You could see that mom was getting a little stronger every day and her mental and emotional state were good. We took some outdoor walks, we sat and watched TV, but mostly we talked and talked and talked…it was all good! Mom is on her way to recovery, but she still has a long ways to go before she can go home. We are all thankful that she is making progress and that we are hopeful that things continue to get better.

One day, there was a tea party for the ladies, which mom and I attended. The activities director had them all round table discussing various topics. One activity that made a huge impression with me was questions that were asked of each resident that took some deep thought. Examples of some questions were – “what was the most mischievous thing that you did when you were little”, “if you could spend the day with someone in history, who would it be”, “what was the most important thing your father taught you”. Now keep in mind, all these ladies are elderly and so their parents have already passed on. Therefore, a lot of their responses stem from the past. One question that stuck out and stays in my mind is “If you could spend time with your mother (again), what would you tell her?”

When you think about that question, you have to ask yourself, why does it have to be after she is gone? Why can’t it be now? That is, when you are with your mom, what is it the most you would like to tell her?

Sometimes we get so wrapped up in our daily lives, we forget to tell the people most important to us how much they mean to us. The “I love yous”, the “thank yous”, the “you are wonderfuls” sometimes go left unsaid. Why do we sometimes wait until they are gone or it is too late?

Well, I for one do not want to wait until that time. This post is dedicated to my mother and to let her know how much I love her and how much she means to me. Without her guidance and love, I could not have become the person I am today. I am very grateful for all that she has done and all the she sacrificed for us kids.

Mom, this is your special day! Know that you are loved and cherished each and every day. I may not be there and I may not see you very often, but that does not mean that the feelings are any less.

Happy Mother’s Day Mom! What a wonderful day to celebrate such a wonderful person!

