This weekend was tough for me as I got that dreaded phone call that no one ever wants to get. I found out that my mom (who is in her late 70’s) took a pretty big tumble and broke her shoulder and banged up her face pretty good. She is now in the hospital awaiting surgery (which will be tomorrow morning). Not only is she suffering from her break and bruises, but her blood tests came back with not so good news. We found out that she has diabetes as well as high blood pressure. She will need to be on medication for the rest of her life. She also has very bad osteoporosis which makes it difficult for her to walk and get around.

Right now she is on heavy pain medication which is making her sick to her stomach. My sister informed me that mom is refusing to eat because she feels so ill. I am hoping that they will be able to get her some anti-nausea medication to help so that she can keep some food down. I know that this is a fairly common thing to happen but it doesn’t stop you from worrying.

She will need to go to physical therapy for at least 6-8 weeks. Between us four girls we will all take a week to go out and help her out. She is a single mother and lives alone so she needs all the assistance she can get. Luckily one of my sisters still lives in the same town as my mother so she will be able to check in on her once we are gone. Unfortunately, my sister has to take the additional responsibility because all the rest of us live in other states. I cannot thank her enough in advance for all that she is and will be doing.

As a child growing up you think of your parents as invincible. As you grow into an adult and watch your parent age along with you, you never want to accept the fact that they are growing old. But reality sets in and you realize that your parents aren’t invincible and they too are just as vulnerable as the child you once were. You never want to admit or have the day come when you have to start thinking about how to care for your elders. Unintentionally and no fault of our own, we all live our lives taking for granted everything that we do and have. But there comes a time when you realize that as children, we owe it to our parents to take care of them as best we can when the time comes, just as they were always there to take care of us when we were young.

It is now becoming more and more apparent that this time is getting closer and closer for me and my sisters. We have some hard decisions to make in the coming years to figure out how to best care for our parents, especially my mom who is the one who needs the most assistance at this time.

I take comfort knowing that my faith will keep us all strong during this time and that as a family we will all pull together to do what is best and right.

We are still coordinating schedules on when each of us girls will be able to go out and help. I am shooting for the 3rd or 4th week of April (which is the soonest I can get out). I just wish I could do something more from this distance. My heart and prayers are the best I can offer for now until I can be there physically.

So, it’s been a difficult weekend for me to say the least. Today I am a bit emotional and a bit unfocused, but I’m hanging in there. I’ll know more tomorrow after her surgery.

I’ll keep you posted…..oh, and by the way, thank you for all for listening. Getting it down in words sometimes helps. 🙂

