Brandon had his first concert of the year last night. The featured bands that played were Prairie Jazz Ensemble, Prairie Symphonic Band and the Prairie Wind Ensemble. Brandon plays the trumpet in both the Jazz and Wind Ensemble bands.

They are under the direction of a new band director (Mr. Joseph Accuardi) this year after a bout of director changes in the last few years. I was interested to see how the bands sounded this year. I wasn’t sure what to expect due to these last year changes in the band program. I am pleased to say that the band sounded EXCELLENT last night! I have not seen the band look and play so well. Usually the first concert of the year sounds a bit rusty, but I can say that they were not at all rusty last night! I am looking forward to future concerts this year! I can’t imagine what they will sound like after more concerts and practice under their belts! It’s going to be a treat! Kudos to Mr. Accuardi and his band students!

Below was last night selections:

Prairie Jazz Band:

The Residual Firedance (Les Hooper)

Danny Boy (Sebesky/Curnow)

In the Mood (Joe Garland) – one of my all time jazz favorites

Take The ‘A’ Train (Strayhorn/Taylor) – another favorite of mine

Prairie Symphonic Band:

Men of Ohio March (Fillmore/Schissel)

Pavanne (Morton Gould)

Broadway’s Best (arr. Johnnie Vinson)

Prairie Wind Ensemble:

Florentiner March (Fucik/Fennell)

Mars “The Bringer of War” (Holst/Story)

Shenandoah (Frank Tischeli) – this was awesome!

Tarentella (arr. Alfred Reed)

Great job Brandon! I am looking forward to the next concert! I love listening to you play!

Prairie High School Jazz Band

Brandon is on the far right in the back row.

